5 Religious Symbols and Their Meanings

5 Religious Symbols and Their Meanings

Jewelry is one of the oldest forms people use to adorn themselves. Aside from being a fashion statement, it’s also been worn for centuries as a representation of faith. Many religious denominations have a trademark symbol or two, which are regarded as meaningful and holy.

No matter what your beliefs are, you can get what’s right for you because there are plenty of gorgeous options available. Read on to learn more about the most popular religious jewelry symbols.

Islam: Star and Crescent Moon

Although Islam has no symbol doctrinally associated with it, one of the most notable is a star floating inside a crescent moon. It represents progress, light, and knowledge.

The crescent moon, or hilal in Arabic, also represents their religious seasons, including when to fast and feast. The five-pointed star, on the other hand, symbolizes the 5 Pillars of the Muslim faith.

Buddhism: Dharmachakra

The Dharma chakra symbolizes the teachings of Siddhartha Gautama Buddha and the endless cycle of birth and rebirth. It’s a wheel with eight spokes that are usually gold. It can also include fine details in the center, like a yin-yang or a secondary wheel.

The number of spokes may vary, but the most common is eight. It represents the core teachings of the faith, which is the Eight fold Path. This is a highly personalized symbol for those who practice the religion, making it an ideal trinket to wear.

Hinduism: Om

One of the most well-known symbols of Hinduism is Om. It represents A U M in Hindi. A is for Brahma and creation, U is for Vishnu and preservation, and M is for Shiva and destruction. It also symbolizes the three planes of existence, namely: heaven, earth, and the netherworld.

People usually wear the word written in the Devanagari script. Because of its simple design, it works best for small pieces, like rings and stud earrings. But, like other religious symbols, it’s often used in necklaces.

Judaism: Star of David

To the Jews, the six-pointed star is a representation of God’s rule over the entire universe in all six directions: north, south, east, west, up, and down. It also acknowledges how King David won wars with the support of their deity. It’s normally worn as it is, but it can also be paired with the Shema or Chair prayers in Hebrew script.

Christianity: Crucifix

For those who buy Christian jewelry, they usually get the cross or crucifix. After all, from whatever denomination you may be in, it symbolizes the sacrifice of and salvation by Jesus. This is often used as the focal point of many pieces. It’s generally worn as a charm or pendant, but it can easily be used in rings, earrings, and cufflinks.


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read also x